Contracting (FAC-C)

The Federal Acquisition Certification-Contracting (FAC-C) certification program is for Federal acquisition workforce members performing contracting and procurement activities and functions.

Certification Requirements

Note: Courses must be taken in order. Course prerequisites will not be waived.

The Federal Acquisition Certification-Contracting (FAC-C) Program requirements are governed by the January 20, 2006 OMB Memo on the Federal Acquisition Certification in Contracting Program.

The FAC-C program has three levels. At each level there are specific education, training, and experience requirements. Answers to frequently asked questions about the FAC-C Certification are also available.

For questions concerning your certification, please contact your Acquisition Career Manager (ACM)


Training for the FAC-C program is prescribed by the certification requirements described above. Users may register for relevant courses on the Find & Register for Courses page.

Continuous Learning

After a workforce member is FAC-C certified, they must accumulate 80 continuous learning points (CLPs) every two (2) years in order to maintain their certification. The intent of this requirement is to ensure workforce members stay current in the laws, regulations, policies, and processes that impact the Federal Contracting environment. 

Per the Office of Management Budget (OMB) Memorandum dated January 20, 2006, CLPs can be earned in a number of ways. The following are examples of Continous Learning Opportunities:

  • Taking college courses, classroom and online based training courses, continuous learning modules (available through FAI for no charge)
  • Participating in professional activities such as teaching, publishing articles in professional journals or magazines, developing, presenting, or attending a brown bag seminar

Other ideas and additional information on earning CLPs can be found on the continuous learning opportunities page. 

Workforce members should always consult their supervisor and Acquisition Career Manager (ACM) in order to determine agency-specific continuous learning requirements.

Contracting Competencies

The Contracting Competencies refer to the knowledge, skills, and abilities workforce members must have in order to perform their contracting duties.

Additional Information

FAC-C Precessor/Successor Course Crosswalk

View the FAC-C Precessor/Successor Course Crosswalk.


Each career area has a Functional Advisory Board as a collaborative, federal-wide working group charged with shaping the management policies and practices of the Federal Acquisition Certification program which is chartered by the Office of Federal Procurement Policy. The Contracting FAB Charter establishes the Contracting FAB to perform continuous review, evaluation, and update of the Contracting career field within Federal civilian agencies.