Program and Project Managers (FAC-P/PM)

Program and Project Managers (P/PMs) are critical in developing accurate government requirements, defining measurable performance standards, and managing life-cycle activities to ensure that intended outcomes are achieved. The FAC-P/PM focuses on essential functional and technical competencies needed for P/PMs. It does not include agency-specific competencies. 

Certification Requirements

As part of the Office of Federal Procurement Policy’s (OFPP) October 2009 Acquisition Workforce Development Strategic Plan for Civilian Agencies, a multi-agency Functional Advisory Board (FAB) was established to refresh the P/PM competencies and recommend improvements to the certification standards. This updated FAC-P/PM reflects the recommendation from the FAB and input from the Chief Acquisition Officers (CAO) Council, Chief Information Officers Council, the Federal Acquisition Institute (FAI), and other stakeholders. The revised program is designed to strengthen civilian agency P/PMs to improve program outcomes, and reflects the need to improve the management of high-risk, high-impact programs. The revised FAC-P/PM program went into effect on March 31, 2014, and are governed by the December 16, 2013 Memo on Revisions to the Federal Acquisition Certification for Program and Project Managers (FAC-P/PM) from OFPP

The FAC-PPM certification program certifies program and project managers at three levels: Entry, Mid, and Senior, with specific education, training, and experience requirements at each level.

The FAC-PPM FAQ contains answers to frequently asked questions about the FAC-PPM certification.

FAC-PPM certification is managed and awarded at the agency level.  Each agency has a designated Acquisition Career Manager (ACM) responsible for managing the certification requirements of the acquisition workforce members in that agency.  Contact your ACM for more information.


Training that meets the requirements for FAC-PPM certification are based on the FAC-PPM competency model.  Training is available from several sources, including industry training vendors, colleges and universities, and Federal training institutions and academies. The FAC-PPM Training Crosswalk is the source of training providers offering certification training that have been verified by FAI for alignment to the FAC-PPM competency model. A new crosswalk is currently under development; in the meantime, questions pertaining to training verification should be directed to Bruce Moler, FAC-PPM Acquisition Program Executive. Also, any training providers that have not had their courseware verified for alignment to the new FAC-PPM competency model should email Bruce as soon as possible. He can be reached at

FAC-PPM Core-Plus Specialization and the FAC-PPM Information Technology (IT) Certification

The purpose of the FAC-P/PM Core-Plus specialization is to establish the additional training, experience and continuous learning requirements for FAC-P/PM certified personnel who manage specific investments requiring specialized knowledge, skills and abilities. The first core-plus area to be addressed in this certification program is for information technology (FAC-P/PM-IT) project and program managers.  New core-plus areas will be recommended by the P/PM FAB, approved by OFPP, and maintained by FAI.

Certification in core-plus specializations requires Mid or Senior level FAC-PPM core certification plus mastery of the additional core-plus specialty training, experience and continuous learning requirements. There are no levels for core-plus specialty certifications. Once mastery of the core and core-plus competencies has been demonstrated through training, education, other relevant certification programs, or documentation through fulfillment (experience), the FAC-PPM core-plus specialty certification is awarded and maintained through continuous learning. The FAC-PPM-IT Core-Plus competency model and the December 16, 2013 Memo on Revisions to the Federal Acquisition Certification for Program and Project Managers (FAC-P/PM) from OFPP both provide more information on the FAC-PPM-IT core-plus specialty certification. 

FAI has developed a matrix of the FAC-PPM-IT Terminal Learning Objectives (TLO) and Key Topics that align to the 15 technical performance outcomes found in the first part of the FAC-PPM-IT Core-Plus competency model. The matrix also contains key topics corresponding to the TLO’s for further refinement into lower level learning objectives. Training providers should consider this TLO matrix a baseline for developing courseware that aligns to the performance outcomes. Training providers can direct their inquiries regarding this matrix to Bruce Moler at

Continuous Learning

Interested individuals may review additional information from OFPP on Continuous Learning requirements.

P/PM Competencies

The revised FAC-PPM core competency model and the FAC-PPM-IT Core-Plus competency model define the knowledge, skills and experience requirements for program and project managers. The models portray the competency areas, then further define the competency areas in behavioral terms using  performance outcome statements.  

The Vendor Consortium (currently under construction) includes the new competency models, as well as the  revised process for vendors to voluntarily submit their training courses to FAI  for verification their courses align with the competency model training requirements.

Additional Information

Each career area has a Functional Advisory Board as a collaborative, federal-wide working group charged with shaping the management policies and practices of the Federal Acquisition Certification program which is chartered by the Office of Federal Procurement Policy. The P/PM FAB Charter establishes the P/PM FAB to perform continuous review, evaluation, and update of the P/PM career field in Federal civilian agencies.