Acquisition, Program Management And Small Business Excellence Awards 2019


1 2 3 4
Page 1 of 4 (0%)

The Acquisition, Program Management and Small Business Excellence Awards allow the Chief Acquisition Officers Council (CAOC) to recognize outstanding improvements in acquisition throughout the Federal government.

Chief Acquisition Officers Council (CAOC)

2019 Acquisition, Program Management, and Small Business Excellence Award Nominations

As part of the efforts to recognize acquisition professionals who contribute to outstanding improvements in acquisition throughout the federal government, the Chief Acquisition Officers Council (CAOC) is seeking nominations for the 2019 Acquisition, Program Management and Small Business Excellence Awards. Nominations are being solicited for Federal employees engaged in team or individual activities that led to excellent results in any of the following acquisition categories in FY 2018:

Acquisition Excellence Award

An award will be given to both an individual and a team.

Category #1 –  Business Innovation: Developed an innovative solution for acquisition, a pathway to drive innovation, or an acquisition practice that is helping to accelerate internal capacity to facilitate innovative solutions. Innovative solutions can be in any acquisition area, such as: 1) developing a challenge on, 2) developing an innovative acquisition process to get the best solution, 3) utilizing strategies from the TechFAR handbook, the Digital Services Playbook or the Innovation Hub, or 4) developing innovative acquisition training and development for the workforce.

Category #2 – Technology Innovation: Used advanced technology to disrupt and improve the acquisition process and function including, but not limited to, (1) artificial intelligence, and (2) robotic process automation.

Category #3 – Category Management: Demonstrated excellence and success in category management, including, but not limited to: 1) increasing spend under management and cost avoidance due to the utilization of category management solutions, 2) reducing unnecessary contract duplication while meeting small business goals, or 3) effective supplier engagement.

Category #4 –  Data Disruption: Applied data analytics results and insights to improve the overall acquisition lifecycle and achieve efficiencies in the agency or across the Federal enterprise. Demonstrated success in business processes, policies, and/or workforce, such as, but not limited to, (1) implementing reductions in burden, (2) amending policies based on evidence-based analytics, and (3) innovated business processes resulting from identification and use of data.

Lisa M. Wilusz Program Management Excellence Award

An award will be given to either an individual or a team.

This award is in honor of Lisa M. Wilusz, the Director of the Office of Procurement and Property Management at the Department of Agriculture, who passed away in April 2017.  Lisa had over 20 years' experience in the federal government and at USDA was responsible for providing leadership, oversight, and policy in the areas of procurement, property management, environmental stewardship, and employee safety. 

Program Management: In line with the intent of the Program Management Improvement and Accountability Act (PMIAA), demonstrated program management excellence and success by balancing the many factors that influence cost, schedule, and performance and by using critical thinking and innovative techniques to solve program management challenges. 

Small Business Excellence Award

An award will be given to either an individual or a team.

Effective Collaboration and Small Business Engagement: Individuals or teams engaged in collaboration between their Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU), the program management office, the contracting office, and small business that led to awards that were successful from both a small business and an acquisition perspective in FY2018.

Nomination packages will be evaluated against the following criteria:

  • Criterion #1 – Results: The team or individual demonstrated results that exceeded original expectations.
  • Criterion #2 – Impact: The impact of the effort was substantial and provided significant value to the agency and/or other beneficiaries.

Nominations will be accepted through July 01, 2019. Nominations will be judged using a two-step process:

  • Step 1: The initial nominations will be judged by senior acquisition professionals.
  • Step 2: You will be contacted if your submission is selected as one of the top individual or team submissions and asked to provide more detailed information on the nomination for the Senior Procurement Executive (SPE)/Program Management Improvement Officer (PMIOs)/OSDBU judges who will select the winners.

Select nominees will have their nominations publicized on OFPP’s Innovation Hub on the Acquisition Gateway.  Nominees will be contacted and approval obtained before the nominations are posted. 

The awards will be presented at Imagine Nation ELC 2019 in Philadelphia, PA in Fall, 2019. If you have additional questions regarding the nomination process, please contact Joanie Newhart, Associate Administrator of Acquisition Workforce Programs, Office of Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP) at or 202-395-4821.